TT Squall2 and solo tent research

I love my Tarptent Squall2 tent, don’t get me wrong.  Its a 2 person tent (luxury when solo) that weighs 32 oz and it performs well in the rain and pretty darn good in high winds (with rocks on the stakes) BUT… pitching it every single night I do wish it was faster, sometimes in cold/rain or buggy conditions you’re in a RUSH, and for me balancing my hiking pole and hoping the 3 stakes hold while I’m trying not to get eaten alive or frozen can be irritating.

Since some of my thru-hike will be solo, I am considering spending the $$ on a solo tent too.  WHY?  1. Faster pitch  2. smaller footprint fits in smaller spaces/terrain  3. lighter and smaller (even if just a little bit) Here is what I’m considering and why:

Tarptent Moment. 30 oz Pitches crazy fast, only 2 stakes-no hiking pole!  Very robust
Tarptent Contrail. 24 oz Lightweight, trusted brand, just a smaller version of the Squall really.
SixMoons 23 oz Lunar solo similar to the Contrail

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

