for the ladies

I knew there urine bottles were pretty standard for men.  But what about us ladies?  Its not fun to get out of the tent for a pee in the frigid night, but especially with rattlesnakes around.

check this out ladies! Here’s reviews of the 5 kinds available:http://www.wavejourney.com/Products3.html

I’m leaning toward the Whiz and Collection bag

REI carries the “Freshette” http://www.rei.com/product/407267

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in Gear, PCT 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to for the ladies

  1. Joyce says:

    Hey Dot,
    I use a cheap flexible plastic cup and then pour it into an old Mountain Home dehydrated food bag (which seals really well) and then clean it up the next day. My current drawback is that my new tent is really, really small and I’m not sure that system will work. I could try it out tonight but I think I’ll wait for the trail! I hope to see you out there!

  2. wanderingdot says:

    Hey Monkey- what the heck are we supposed to call ya??

    Looks like you’re using the TT Contrail- cool, I look forward to your review- I really dont think of it as small- lots of head room. I have a TT Squall2 which I’ll use my first month since another lady is joining me for that time. After that I’m “in the market” for a solo tent and i think the TT Moment is it. super fast setup. Barely any stakes- when you’re alone in a gnarly freezing storm or with skeeters killin ya, that sounds great.
    Anyhow, happy to see another solo lady recognizing the pee-problemo. Even at ADZPCTKO, jeez I’m not gonna hoof it all the way to the WC to pee. Also not gonna cop a squat in the middle of a zillion dudes’ tents, right? I’m psyched these companies exist, I ordered the Whiz, but they’re out of the collection bags, I’ll have to do with an old water bottle. Also handy in skeeter country this thing- wiz like a guy, wow.
    Looks like you bumped up your start date- I’m going slow starting 15th, hope to catch ya!

    • Joyce says:

      Dot – Yup it’s the Contrail. I will definitely have opinions once I am living out of it. As for what to call me… well I guess that depends on if I’ve pissed you off or not… you can call me Monkey I guess. Sounds funny but I’ll answer to it.
      J

  3. Rockin says:

    Okay I am thinking all my thoughts on this subject should go in an email!!! This is always an important subject. 🙂

Leave a Reply

