Home-made $1 rain skirt

eat your heart out $55 Z-packs Cloud Kilt !!!!  This is made from thin plastic I got at Wal-Mart.  It was in the fabric dept. on a 54″ roll and costs 97 cents a yard.  I sewed in an elastic waistband and put velcro to close it.  I made mine 20″ in legnth, about to the knee and it weighs 2.25 oz, though I may trim it down a wee bit.

Not bad for fiddy-cent eh?

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home-made $1 rain skirt

  1. Hola Dot, read your note in my guestbook.

    You can order silnylon from a few places pretty cheap (they even sell seconds now) like Quest Outfitters or Seattle Fabrics. Just Google them.

    The nice thing about silnylon is its a bit more durable than plastic, draps well, weighs next to nothing, and packs ultrasmall. The price of your skirt can’t be beat but a little extra for the silnylon is worth it IMO.

    I went with a tube design for mine which works great with the silnylon because it doesn’t catch on my hiking shorts. And when it stops raining, instead of taking it off, I just pull it up and tuck it in my hip belt in case I need it again soon.

    Another alternative is contracter trash bags you should bw able to get at hardware stores like Home Depot: strong, cheap, with a draw string.

    And good luck with the skirt……Jim

Leave a Reply

