Stove/cooking system

This is an improvement on my old system for sure.  I just need to add a windscreen and styrofoam container for hot drinks.  Lightweight, compact, and effective.  Contains: home-made soda can alcohol stove, steel “X” pot stand, tuna can primer base, Wal-Mart aluminum grease pot, Erik the Black-style pot cozy,  sealable plastic bowl for soaking grains, mini-bic lighter, part of a scrubbie pad, part of a Lightloads towel, and cheap Wal-mart camping spork.  8 oz.

April 12, 2011.  Woo!  I made some excellent revisions!
I replaced the primer pan beneath the stove with a Fosters can bottom, the aluminum is lighter than the old tuna can, but I still made big V notches in it to reduce weight and allow for easy fire-starting!  I totally ditched the old steel X pot stand and made a Caldera-cone style windscreen/pot stand.  But here’s my trick: I made it collapsible!  I made it in two parts that notch together, then they coil inside my Walmart grease pot and the plastic container I use for rehydrating (which contains my stove etc) fits freakin perfectly inside it upside-down.  I’m a genius!!  oh and I added a small styrofoam cup for me, but Annie will carry it insider her more mug-shaped pot.

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in Gear, PCT 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stove/cooking system

  1. Rockin says:

    I loved my cat food stove using Andrew Skurka’s instructions. It works nicely with the grease pot. I would change the aluminum foil screen that I used for the flashing you are building. For fuel storage, I used an eight ounce disposable water bottle labeled with a sharpie. It worked great and fit right in the pan.

  2. Annie says:

    I think you are a genius. I wish I had known about the aluminum flashing…I have some but not right with me at this time. I have a lot of thin copper flashing sheets…would that be useful? I could cut one to size.

  3. Tania says:

    Cut your spork down to fit in the pot or make a hinge for it 🙂

    • wanderingdot says:

      nah- you need it long sometimes when u use those in baggie-cooking! So I’m keeping mine in my outer pack pocket, that’s what I did before. I saw one dude drill a hole and hang it on his pack. Ya never know when sudden emergency Ben-and Jerry’s might arrive. Be prepared!!! hi Tania!!

  4. thf2 says:

    Sweet! Like it! I’m making revisions to mine tomorrow night. The kitchen/cooking setup is one of themost fun to build I think. :). Your spoon: it looked long enough that if you cut/file down the end to fit inside your pot…it might work!

    • wanderingdot says:

      I’m so psyched I got the Caldera cone thing to work for me! I messed up a few times first- sheesh I’m a fabricator can’t I make this dang thing? I think it’s gonna be good but I didn’t get a final weight on it. Might be able to do that tomorrow, but I feel there is lots of wind, and I need the stove to go, and I love that I got it all to fit in the pot. The spork won’t fit with all that in there. I remember seeing some hiker’s blog last year who drilled a hole in the end and hung it from his pack, it was all the could think of to do with it! I’m also sorta in that camp. Flying to SD tomorrow woah!!

  5. Whirlpool (john) says:

    Just as a refference for future adventures, your progresso can is what I keep in my day pack as an emergency cook kit. Everything fits inside the can; those being, stove, windscrean, utencil, food, knife, candles, seasonings, lighter, as well as other items. See it in Backpacking LUNCH, on utube. I cut the lid off with a side cutter, ‘safety cutter’. They’re the same price as the top cutter, about $12@Walmart. What they do is cut the lid off from the side so it will be a lid afterwords, and doesn’t leave a sharp edge to cut you with, but check anyway :o) You don’t end up with that ledge at the top, plus, you have a nice closure lid to seal in the heat. I keep it all together with two rubber bands. It’s not a bad cooker, and it’s actually less than titanium, but I agree with you, those ribs make it hard to clean.*** // ***As for alcohol stoves, I have my soda/cat stoves for heating things to a boil, nice and quick, but also carry a tiny simmer stove that fits inside anything. I cook in pots almost always and wanted a ‘simmer’ stove and something less intense for things like noodles. It’s an aluminum bottle stove I think I may have invented. Again, see it in Backpacking SUPER-MINI on rainbowhiker channel, youtube. It’s tippy. I’ve since glued it to a small lid and that solved the problem. It will need a pot stand because of it’s small diameter. I leave less than an inch gap between stove and pot. *** Something else concerning stoves, the penny stove is a chore to use compared to other designs of soda or cat can stoves, believe me. You don’t need to prime them, they blossome right away. I don’t mean to wave my hat, but again, check out my channel and look for Backpacking ANOTHER ROADSIDE STOVE. (Fiddling with stoves is a hobby for me in the winter time, or used to be, till I found things that are so reliable.) It shows the simplicity of stove design as I make them and all you need are the simplist of tools. Sizzors, marker, $1 hole punch from Walmart. (I don’t make them for others.) All in all, You’ve got some good things going for you, And your final set up probably worked just great for you, but there could be some refinements done to your kitchen to help you go even lighter, and that’s always welcom, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

