Here we go!

High noon.

20110415-115958.jpg

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in PCT 2011, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here we go!

  1. Keri Straka says:

    this is an awesome thing you are doing!!! you know what else is awesome??? the DINOSAUR post card you sent us! Once again, you are a hero to the kids! Thanks!!!
    we certainly do love our Christy!!!

  2. Whirlpool (john) says:

    In ’99, my year, I left one week before June. It wasn’t an especially heavy snow year for central California, in fact, a little less than the norm, if I’m remembering correctly, but it always surprises me how early people leave. Just delaying a few weeks you hit the Sierras at a much better time. I grew up in souther Cal. Its so much easier to travel the snowfields with their lower depths and finding trail is much easier, too. Of course, you miss the kick-off. But depending on snow depths, you can make such better time. I finished in record time for myself, a little over three months later, 97 days. Yes, I planned on high miles from the start and was in great ‘hiking’ shape, then. Nothing like those two that finnished last year in less than 65 days. Wow! I don’t stay in motels or campgrounds and stay out of towns except to resupply. *** Just an observation to possibly help you consider leaving a bit later to make the Sierras a bit easier *** It worked for me, that year. I couldn’t do it again, though, that kind of mileage. I’m getting ‘old’.

Leave a Reply

