Day 14, Idyllwild zero

Well, I managed to get A prescription from my doc for anti-inflamatories that worked well in the past for reducing swelling of these problem discs in my neck. But it’s still pinching a nerve that hurts like hell. I’ve been out ofcommission for days and it’s impossible to squeeze painkillers out of anyone. If you have a few old hydrocodone (Vicodin) or oxycodone (percoset) please, please send them to me in Idyllwild. I’m dyin.
Use USPS Priority mail:
Christy Georg, PCT hiker
General Delivery
Idyllwild, CA 92549

Annie and I and Enviro Pyro went to a mellow yoga class yesterday that helped my mobility, but I’m still fairly crippled. Icing my neck and left arm where the nerve pain shoots down. I bruised below my elbow where the pain culminates, I dunno if I was trying to strangle it or what!

I need to fix some things on my tent but can’t muster the effort. Annie went out and got me a yummy coffee and I made my fav buckwheat breakfast. People in town are great, Idyllwild is a super town! We watched part od American Idol (ah, this is why I’ve never owned a TV..) cuz a local guy is on the show. Annie and I liked him best! We will move to the more convenient Idyllwild Inn tonight, then try to get a ride to the kickoff in Lake Morena tomorrow.

We will e back in Idyllwild after depending on my back condition. Thinking about Southbounding the Taquitz/Appache peak section so it’s more downhill and we can sleep at lower elevations. Uphill slogs have murdered my back and Annie’s a very cold sleeper so this seems a wise choice. Also it would allow us to hang in lovely Idullwild again and another meal at the Paradise cafe on Hwy 74!!!

I look forward to seein the gear vendors at the KO and shopping for a solo tent as well as entering some of my inventions in he contest! In the meantime I’m a useless Immobile mess, boo!

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in PCT 2011, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 14, Idyllwild zero

  1. Rockin says:

    OOOOOOOhhhhhhh I am so sorry. All this sounds super stressful. I have never really had back issues. I can’t imagine how discouraging and painful all this is. Hang in there and hope to see you at the KO.

    • wanderingdot says:

      Yep. Everybody else here is nursing bad feet problems, at least our feet are pretty good. This is an old recurring problem I can prevent by reducing stress and doing yoga twice a week- I failed on that for a couple months! It’s been two days on the anti inflamatories so hopefully the swelling will go down soon. Pinched nerve is no bueno.

      Hard getting a lift to the KO, will try hitching to Hwy 74 (will be hard to resist eating at the Paradise again…) then holding a ADZPCTKO sign. We’re in site 85. See ya soon!

  2. Dan says:

    I know it’s early (am) but if you need a ride let me know. I ended up getting a rental car while in SD and can drive up to get you guys.

Leave a Reply

