Day 29 Holcomb Creek thru Deep Creek detour, 24 mi

Day 29 Friday, May 13 camped near Holcomb Creek 292 through deep Creek detour to 316

this beautiful moonlit night I’m camped alone with views of the Valley and he left the trail at 4:30 PM after eight brutal 4×4 Dirt Rd. detour to highway 173 where Nate picked her up. Nate is a glassblower who was an undergrad when I was a grad student at Mass Art. He had Gatorade, water, and a banana for me & wow did that hit the spot! Potassium and Electrolytes! They drove me and hiker Running Feather up the paved road to where it’s closed saving us about 2 1/2 mi of SO not the PCT pavement.
The remaining 7 miles where gnarly on the feet, super hot and boring view of a dam mostly empty.  Boy was I glad to finally hit the trail at last. There was a small tree with water cash where Running Feather and Grey Ghost rested. I ate my pepperoni and cheese and pita and drank electrolytes. It was sad to say bye to Annie I know we both had our grumpy moments and what not but I think we value each others company and friendship and I feel happy to have introduced her to long-distance hiking. I really love her support! Great lady and friend! Well I’m headed to Wrightwood for my birthday Wednesday!

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in PCT 2011, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 29 Holcomb Creek thru Deep Creek detour, 24 mi

  1. Rockin says:

    Glad to hear you are well and on the trail. Happy early birthday!

Leave a Reply

