Finished!

I finished my PCT thruhike at the Northern Terminus around 2:30 pm on Monday, October 10, 2011.

I hiked alone all day thru light snow, wind and rain from Holman Pass, where I passed a perfect, silent night, made my last trail breakfast, and dug my last hole.

A great group that I’ve been with for about a week was there, expecting me- Gnarly, Tails and her dog Skeeter, Honeybee, Geno, and Icarus.

20111012-081858.jpg

20111013-105949.jpg

20111013-110005.jpg

20111013-110024.jpg

20111013-110124.jpg

20111013-110152.jpg

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in PCT 2011, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Finished!

  1. Rockin' says:

    I just love this picture. Congratulations. What an accomplishment! Can’t wait to hear more details.

  2. WAY TO GO!!!! Congrats!
    I hope your journey gave you everything you were hoping for.
    On an airplane huh, that sounds really fast after a nice 2600mile hike……..

    Good luck to you,
    Keep in touch,
    MeanderMoose

  3. Tiny Dancer says:

    CONGRATS DOT! Hooray!

  4. Kit says:

    Congratulations! Sad I never got to meet you on the trail, but have been following your journey:) Cheers and best in your transition! -Chinchilla

  5. Randy L. says:

    Christy, congrats on the awesome accomplishment ! Have really enjoyed following your journey since I met you above Lone Pine.
    I bet it’s gonna be tough to go back to the real world now.
    Take care, I’ll be reading the rest of your posts.

    Randy the biker dude.

  6. Randy L. says:

    Wow, did Trails hike the entire thing with her dog Skeeter ??

  7. Congratulations Christy!! I’ve enjoyed following your adventure!

  8. thf2 says:

    Dot! You rock!! Congrats! I made it to mile 2,000 and hopped off. I’m stoked you made it!!

    ~ Rawhide
    http://thf2.wordpress.com

  9. Serpent Slayer says:

    Well done! Pleasure to have met you at Hart’s Pass. All the best.

    Serpent Slayer

  10. HopSing......... jeff says:

    Wandering Dot………. I am going to touch your heart. I am giving up a corporate career of 22 years to hike the trail. I am so stoked by your pure enjoyment of the trail that I cannot turn back. Everyone thinks I am a fool but I know I am not. What is life after?………please tell me

    • wanderingdot says:

      Don’t even think about life after. Everyone is different, and it’s a very hard journey to plan for, provision, and to DO. Remember it is about 85% mental. A major factor in my success is that I had nowhere else to go. No job, home, boyfriend, kids, pets, plans. So…I just kept walking. I also had a super resupplier whom I communicated with- my mom, and she’d alter my packages for me and send me replacement gear, that helps a ton.

      Most hikers get a bit depressed after a thru-hike. After 6 months of wearing and eating and doing the same thing, “normal” life is noisy, bustling, and seemingly pointless. Plus there is too much choice. Don’t expect to be “changed”. The only sense of accomplish you can expect is within yourself, a personal attainment of achievement. Good luck! I’ll try to follow you if you have a blog.

  11. Whirlpool (john) says:

    I remember seeing your last vid on utube and smiling at your finish. It was fun watching your progress. Thanks for the revisit. ’99.

    • wanderingdot says:

      My friend Derek thrued in ’99. You probably met him, tall skinny guy w blonde hair and black glasses strapped on. I don’t recall him mentioning using a trail name.

      • Whirlpool (john) says:

        I may have seen him in town. The people I saw out on the trail were few and far between. In town I would nod and people would nod back, knowing we were up to the same thing, but I never did much talking to people or stayed in towns. I’d get my food and try to be out as fast as possible. I was goal oriented back then. I was traveling light, the term us old guys used to use before ultralight became the norm, and I stayed away from groups, camping out with others or when hiking on the trail. I think you mentioned not liking the ‘people noises’ in one of your videos, and thats the way I was. I didn’t want to be around anyone. But after norther Cal, I didn’t see hardly anyone. I guess I passed a lot of people. Looking back, I don’t think I’d do it the same way again. My average for the day, average, was over 27 miles, and that’s way too much on a daily basis for most of the trip. I came apart a couple of times, I remember. The stesses got to me, but I had to get back home and find work. I was able to go on my ‘thru’ because of a layoff and a healthy severance check, so I was motivated. I’d only heard about the PCT a couple of years before, but never gave it much thought. Two months from my starting date, I rushed to get ready. I grew up in souther Cal, so I knew some of the area where I learned to hike, and didn’t even know about permits or logs to sign. Good thing I never ran into rangers through the Sierras. They probably would have given me a nice big fine or something. I don’t know how people get away without bear vaults these days. I understand they’re very strict about them now. I didn’t even know they existed back then. I guess I was a green-horn about the PCT, but I’d been hiking all my life, so I wasn’t too far off the mark. I can’t believe how government is so involved with people who want to go off into the woods. Permits? It still kind of erks me, if you know what I mean. Maybe they’re just trying to keep a head count. See! And you thought you were a cheap scate. :o)

Leave a Reply

