My Review of Patagonia Drifter A/C Hiking Shoes – Women’s

Originally submitted at REI

Ready for all-terrain exploration, the Patagonia Drifter A/C women’s hiking shoes are light, nimble and supportive to keep in step with your adventuresome spirit.

Killer long-distance backpacker shoe

By Wandering Dot from Santa Fe, NM on 2/21/2012
4out of 5

Sizing: Feels true to size

Width: Feels true to width

Pros: No Break-in, Comfortable, Great Traction, Durable

Best Uses: Backcountry

Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer

Arch Type: Average Arch

Was this a gift?: No

I agree with the other reviewer, the heel box is too wide while the wide toe box is welcome. My solution was to cut a 1″ strip of Mole-foam (not skin) and put that in the heel. Be sure to add better insoles and then put your mole foam in there.

I wore only TWO pairs of these shoes on my 2, 650 mile thru-hike of the PCT last summer. That’s great value, never mind the price tag. LOVE these. It’s all about a hard sole with great traction. You don’t feel the rocks and trail and you do not need a boot.

I love the Patagonia Drifter.

(legalese)

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in Gear, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Review of Patagonia Drifter A/C Hiking Shoes – Women’s

  1. Erin says:

    Hello! I was wondering what size you wore in these shoes. Did you size up at all to accommodate foot swelling?

    • wanderingdot says:

      I wore 8.5
      They have a HUGE toe area, plenty of wiggle squiggle room. I generally wear a size 8.
      My feet swell like scary sausages in the heat, esp so Cal. No problem in these roomy shoes. The heel is too big though, for most people, so I put some Moleskin FOAM in the heel area, a 1″ strip across the inside of the back of the shoe. Bueno!
      be sure to cool your feet in the desert. lunch at a stream. it reduces swelling, hot spots, and all that.

Leave a Reply

