Wheeler Peak 2013

My third summit.  My puppy’s first backpacking trip, overnight camping, AND summit!  Sept. 29, 2013

Arrived Taos Ski Valley 6 pm and headed up Bull-of-the-Woods Trail.  I did the summit for my first time this way in fall of 2010.  The Aspens are changing, it’s chilly, gets dark earlier than anticipated…  my pup Sammy did well carrying her new Ruffwear Ascent orange pack.  We used the Gentle Leader on her snout, with leash attached to my pack’s belt.  No problemo.

A couple hiked in just behind us with their two black labs, one a puppy- so I let Sammy free to play.  Camped after two miles at the Bull of the Woods pasture.  Sammy thought it was weird that I wanted her inside this fabric contraption, but she obliged and we spent an uneventful, but chilly (20-25 degree) night.  My new super UL camp set (of my own design) is a tad fussy.  Also my Sawyer Squeeze filter didn’t work at all.  It’s new, only used it twice… good thing I brought treatment tablets, sheesh!  Lovely morning with coffee and breakfast.

Got on our way up and enjoyed the views and saying hello to about a zillion fellow trekkers.  A friend met me on the trail and I proceeded to drag his butt upward into freezing, blustery conditions.  Snow on trail already!  The summit was amazing, perfectly clear and could see for hundreds of miles.  Took the newer (2010?) STEEP Williams Lake trail down- really fast, ez descent!  For my third summit, this was the first time to NOT encounter altitude sick people!  And now that I have my Wilderness First Responder certification…

So-  Bull-of-the-Woods is 8 miles to the summit, Williams Lake Tr is about 2.5 miles down.  My friend treated me to dinner at the Bavarian restaurant (my German ancestry appreciated it) and I headed home, happy and tired.  Spent about 12 hours lounging and Sleeping, Sammy stayed pooped ALL DAY long!ImageImage

Sammy Davis Jr, Jr on her way down the Williams Lake trail (with Lake below)  One tough pup!

Made a pre-hike video of our gear.

About wanderingdot

Thru-hiking the PCT 2011
This entry was posted in peakbagging, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

