Hydration system- Sawyer in-line filter

Following Erik the Black’s lead, I purchased a Sawyer in-line filter ($50, 1.8oz) to put in my drinking tube connected to a bladder in my pack.  I chose the Platypus 3L BigZip ($33, 5.8 oz).  This is a really great UL hydration system!  If you don’t put a zip tie on the out-flow side of the filter that connects to your sip tube, then you can remove that and press on the bladder to force filtered water to come out and into whatever container you need- like an old plastic coke bottle you’re using for flavored drinks.  I will be supplying a temporary hiking partner with filtered water for my first month using this system.  SWEET!  Here’s a video I made about how it works:

About wanderingdot

Thru-hikes - PCT 2011, CT 2014 Artist/sculptor, professor, master fabricator
This entry was posted in Gear, PCT 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hydration system- Sawyer in-line filter

  1. Rockin says:

    Hey cool video! Husband says the tube left in the box is to connect the tubes together when you are not using the inline filter. So have you tried sucking water through this system? Some say it is a pain and takes a lot of pressure. I like the idea of NOT using drops in my water all the time. It cannot be good for the body long term.

  2. wanderingdot says:

    I tested the system on a day hike today- I had to shorten the tube between the filter and the bladder some- it sorta bunched up in the pouch in my pack. The water comes thru on its own, you don’t have to suck hard at all! In fact I’m planning on using it to supply my one month hiking partner with filtered water- I discovered you totally DONOT need to use zip ties to secure the tubes on either end of the filter- it’s freakin imposible to yank em off, as I tried to shorten one tube. Anyway, remove the quick-connect fm the outgoing side of the filter, squeeze on the bladder and water comes shooting out– fill your buddy’s water jugs, fill your container for flavor drinks. This is a revolutionary system! So UL and versatile and easy to use! Thanks Erik the Black, for making me aware!

Leave a comment